

2019 Freshy Awards

Elected Official or Capitol Staffer of the Year

Administrator of the Year

Best County Performances of the Year: Application Processing Timeliness **Presented by CDSS**

Grassroots Mobilizer of the Year

Outreach Leader of the Year

SSI CalFresh Expansion Advocate of the Year

The "Freshy" Awards honor the actions of individual Californians, organizations, and counties from across the state that have worked diligently in the last year to improve CalFresh.



Food Policy Elected Official or Capitol Staffer of the Year

Assemblymember Dr. Joaquin Arambula

Chair, Assembly Budget Subcommittee on Health & Human Services



Taryn Smith

Chief Consultant, Senate Human Services Committee

Nicole Vazquez

Deputy Chief Consultant, Assembly Budget Committee

Senator Scott Wiener

Chair, Senate Human Services Committee (2018)





Food Policy Elected Official or Capitol Staffer of the Year

Assemblymember Dr. Joaquin Arambula

Chair, Assembly Budget Subcommittee Health & Human Services





Administrator of the Year

Amber Bonilla

CalFresh ABAWD Policy Unit Manager, CDSS

Alexis Fernandez

Chief, CalFresh Policy Branch, CDSS

Gabriela Gomez

Program Assistant, Los Angeles County DPSS

Kim McCoy Wade

CalFresh Division Chief, CDSS





Administrator of the Year

Nolan Sullivan

Director, Yolo County HHSA

Bonnarith Tim

Appeals Hearing Specialist, Los Angeles County DPSS

Dennis Tivey & Jose Clemente

Communication & Outreach Coordinator, Department Business Specialist,
Santa Barbara County DSS

Megan Van Sant

Senior Program Manager, Mendocino County HHSA





Administrator of the Year

Gabriela Gomez

Program Assistant, Los Angeles County DPSS





Best County Performances of the Year: Application Processing Timeliness

Presented by

The California Department of Social Services

CalFresh Branch

Best 30-Day Timeliness
Best 3-Day Timeliness
Most Improved Timeliness





Best 30-Day Timeliness

Alpine County

Social Services Department

Sierra County

Social Services Department





Best 3-Day Timeliness

Orange County

Social Services Agency





Most Improved Timeliness

Mariposa County

Human Services Department





Grassroots Mobilizer of the Year

Carly Finkle

Policy and Advocacy Manager, Food Bank of Contra Costa and Solano

Orange County CalFresh Collaborative

Gilbert Ramos

Director, San Bernardino County
Transitional Assistance Dept.

Eli Zigas

Food and Agriculture Policy Director, SPUR





Grassroots Mobilizer of the Year

Gilbert Ramos

Director, San Bernardino County Transitional Assistance Department





Outreach Leader of the Year

Alexandra Danino

CalFresh Program Manager, San Francisco/ Marin Food Bank

Dave Guarino

Director of GetCalFresh.org, Code for America

PHFE WIC Program

Heluna Health

Robin Ronkes

Public Health Nutritionist,
San Bernardino Department of Public Health





Outreach Leader of the Year

Brandi Simonaro

Program Manager, CFO Program, Far North & California Higher Education Center for Healthy Communities

Matt Smith

Interim Associate Vice President of Student Affairs, CSU Dominguez Hills

Darlene Spurgeon

CalFresh Program Manager, Placer Food Bank

Yaceth Virgen

CalFresh Outreach Coordinator,
Second Harvest Food Bank—Santa Cruz





Outreach Leader of the Year

PHFE WIC Program

Heluna Health





SSI CalFresh Expansion Advocate of the Year

Janny Castillo

Seniors for Hope & Justice Program Coordinator, St. Mary's Center

Andrew Cheyne

Director of Government Affairs, California Association of Food Banks

DOGFITE

CA4SSI Coalition





Food Policy SSI CalFresh Expansion Advocate of the Year

Diana Jensen

Senior Policy Analyst, San Francisco-Marin Food Bank

Ronald Nagby

Hunger Action Los Angeles

Frank Tamborello

Executive Director, Hunger Action Los Angeles





SSI CalFresh Expansion Advocate of the Year

CA4SSI Coalition All Members





2019 Freshy Awards



Congratulations to ALL the Nominees!